Te Kura O Take Kārara announces foundation teaching staff

Pictured: Te Kura O Take Kārara foundation principal, Jodie Howard. Picture by Wanaka Sun.

Nine teachers are the first to join the roster of Wanaka’s new primary school, Te Kura O Take Kārara, which will open next year.

The school’s foundation principal, Jodie Howard, said the foundation teaching staff, comprised of a strong mix of teachers with a wide range of skills, were appointed after a rigorous selection. “We were very happy with the quality of the applications from within and beyond our district,” said Howard.

The new teachers, along with their current school, are: Anita van Looy (Clearview School, Rolleston), Anna Mulconroy (Highfields School, Timaru), Anna Murdoch (Heathcote Valley School, Christchurch), Caitlin Buttle (Knights Stream School, Christchurch), Estelle Moore (Hawea Flat School), Fergus McLean (Wanaka Primary School), Jillian Macfie (beginning teacher), Joe Miller (Goldfields School, Cromwell) and Olivia Pearce (beginning teacher).

The teachers will start beginning of Term Four and will work alongside the leadership team to prepare for the opening of Take Kārara at the beginning of 2020. Howard said that there will be opportunities for children, parents, caregivers and whānau to connect with the teachers before the end of the year.

Expressions of interest in enrolling at Take Kārara are now open and can be completed on the school’s website.

Steelwork construction is underway at the school, which is located in the Three Parks development.


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now