Annual awards night celebrates athletes

Adam Hall | Photo:Stash Media Worx

Para alpine skier Adam Hall was awarded the overall athlete of the year at the Snow Sports NZ Annual Awards Night.

Hall also won the adaptive snow sports athlete of the year for an outstanding 2017/18 season which included a gold medal in slalom in PyeongChang this February, a Paralympic bronze medal in super combined, and gold and silver World Cup medals. He was also awarded the prestigious Whang Yuon Dai Achievement Award.

Local athletes featured strongly amongst the winners of the annual awards. Hank Bilous won the breakthrough season award, Campbell Wright was crowned the cross country athlete of the year, Craig Murray was awarded freeride athlete of the year, Zoe Sadowski-Synnott won the snowboarder of the year award and Nico Porteous won the freeskier of the year award.

Instructor of the year went to Oliver Midgely (Cardrona), while coach of the year was won by adaptive snow sports coaches Ben Adams and Jane Stevens. Alice Robinson (Queenstown won the alpine ski racer athlete of the year, and the women’s and men’s masters ski racing champions were Alison Duder (Arrowtown) and Geoff Hunt (Queenstown).

The event served as a celebration for another successful year for Snow Sports NZ, with the Olympic and Paralympic Winter Games being a highlight for the organisation.


There are no comments on this article.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to make a comment. Login Now